Skip to content

For the Voyeur in you…

May 10, 2011

Some days ago, I read this post in a DIY photography blog, about a 35mm slide used as a pendant… to see the world through the framing of a film slide. More or less the same day, in a pile of things to be thrown away in my office building (I already mentioned there is some renovation ongoing) I found a scratched keyhole plate… then… it suddenly came to my mind: why, instead, not making a necklace for looking to the world through a keyhole ?

In a trip to the nearest home depot I discovered that there are quite many keyhole plates available… large, small, flat, decorated… most of my findings were brass, but there were some steel and aluminium ones too. Needless to say, I grabbed some different plates and went home. The plate which gave me the idea was one of this modern aluminium round flat plates. This model is pretty standard and, even if the shape of the hole is not the classic one, it is very recognizable as a keyhole.

The only problem is that this kind of plates have quite a large border. I cut it with some metal shears and sanded it. To make the hole for the holding ring I used a small hand-drill (very handy for small objects). The front surface may be left blank or decorated… It is possible to etch it (yes, standard etch solution does work on aluminium), engrave it with a rotary tool (quite complicated) or paint with some fancy-effect product. I opted for some crystals… After using again the hand-drill to make small holes around the keyhole, I glued the crystal in place.

Most of the other plates already had a suitable hole for the cord ring. I just sanded a bit the raising parts of the plates, to make them stand out more and, with a  small file, filed just a bit the border of the keyhole (again, to make it more visible). I added some more crystals and beads to give the objects a more complete appearance.

Then, while I was searching for keyhole plates, I found this small keyhole metal borders… which seems prefect for earrings (and have a complete keyhole-themed set).  The good news is: they already have a small hole on their upper and bottom side! It is a matter of minutes to attach an earring hook on top and a small crystal bead on the bottom using some bead wire end. They are fine on both sides: one is larger and curvier, the other more linear… I wired it in order to let it turn on the spot. Again, I sanded a bit the borders in order to make them more visible.

Now… GO and make some keyhole pendant…a nd watch the world like a Voyeur…

From → Jewelry, Project

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

